Tags:
archive_me1Add my vote for this tag create new tag
, view all tags
Maybe it's just me who has overlooked it, but ought there not be a button to go from the "Preview" back to the "Edit" form? I keep using the back button in my browser, which occasionally fails(?).

To me, the most intuitive thing would be another button placed next to "Save Changes" called something like "Resume Editing" or "Back to Edit mode".

Opinions?

BTW, my web is version dec/2000 running on an IndigoPerl Apache server in Windows 2000.

-- JanGB - 26 Jun 2001

On a related note, I've been using TWiki to compose documents. Currently, in order to save the document and continue editing, you have to

  • Click "Preview Changes"
  • Click "Save Changes"
  • Click on the "Edit" Link

On the preview page, a "Save and Resume Editing" button would eliminate one of these steps.

Even better, if you don't feel a need to do a preview every time you save your document, a "Save and Resume Editing" type button on the edit page would eliminate two of these steps.

This would be very useful if you were using TWiki in a meeting for capturing minutes.

-- FrankSmith - 26 Jun 2001

The reason your edit occasionally fails is because, somewhere, you're opening up another browser window while you're previewing a topic, and then you click the "back" button. What this does (and I can only vouch for IE) is that it either flushes the edit textbox or goes back to a cached version. What this results in is an (apparent) total loss of your changes. If you're lucky enough to catch this problem, simply click the "forward" button and save your changes. If you're UNlucky (like I was the first time I saw this), you will lose a LOT of changes! I don't know how to fix this, because it's a browser problem, not a TWiki problem.

I do agree, though, that having a "Save and continue editing" button would be nice smile

-- DavidWeller - 26 Jun 2001

A "Save and continue editing" button is a useful enhancement. Changed to FeatureToDo.

-- PeterThoeny - 26 Jun 2001

The caching problems experienced with browsers are discussed in Support.BrowserIssues - please contribute there, as I'd like to get this sort of browser/cache behaviour documented. It does seem that IE5 usually manages to cache the previously entered TEXTAREA state, but not always!

-- RichardDonkin - 27 Jun 2001

What going to happen about the Back From Preview To Edit button? Sounds useful to me.

-- MartinCleaver - 27 Jun 2001

The BackFromPreviewLosesText bug is now fixed, so browser's Back button should always work (in TWikiAlphaRelease).

To get the 'save and continue working' feature in the TWiki UI, see CheckpointSave (not in TWikiAlphaRelease).

-- RichardDonkin - 26 Mar 2002

I have implemented the back from preview button in the KoalaSkin. It is just a simple bit of javascript, working on all browsers I tested:

<input type="button" name=backbutton value="  Back " onClick="history.go(-1)" />

Usability issue: try to put the Back button exactly where was the Preview button in the edit view: this way you can do a quick "Preview/Back" without moving the mouse...

PS: KoalaSkin also implement Checkpoint, aka "Save and continue editing"...

-- ColasNahaboo - 26 Mar 2002

When I would have to choose between "Cancel edit" and "Back", I would choose Cancel. Back is already available with the browser's back button, while for "Cancel" there would be no alternative than to go back and click Cancel (or abandon the edit, leaving the edit lock closed). See DoNoGoBackTwiceToCancel.

But I found this principle useful for the changeform template. Somehow this page looks like a dead end. In PatternSkin, I have implemented the above script as:

<td class="twikiCancelCol"><input type="button" class="twikiSubmit" name="backbutton" value="Back" onclick="history.go(-1)" /></td>

-- ArthurClemens - 28 Jul 2004

Edit | Attach | Watch | Print version | History: r14 < r13 < r12 < r11 < r10 | Backlinks | Raw View | Raw edit | More topic actions
Topic revision: r14 - 2008-08-23 - TWikiJanitor
 
  • Learn about TWiki  
  • Download TWiki
This site is powered by the TWiki collaboration platform Powered by Perl Hosted by OICcam.com Ideas, requests, problems regarding TWiki? Send feedback. Ask community in the support forum.
Copyright © 1999-2017 by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.