Tags:
create new tag
, view all tags

Bug: if you delete the .txt file (leaving the .txt,v file) the twiki informs the user the topic does not exist

and when you then create the topic, it adds a new revision, as though the user had purposly removed the previous contents.

Test case

delete TWiki/data/TWiki/*.txt then goto http://you host/view/TWiki/WebHome (get the not found answer), create the topic - see that the revision number is higher than 1.1

shouldn't we realise that the topic has been created, and do a new checkout?

Environment

TWiki version: TWikiRelease01Feb2003
TWiki plugins: DefaultPlugin, EmptyPlugin, InterwikiPlugin
Server OS: Debian Linux unstable
Web server: Apache
Perl version: 5.8
Client OS: linux
Web Browser: galeon

-- SvenDowideit - 08 Jan 2004

Follow up

Fix record

Discussion

Is this really a bug? The only way for an end user to remove the .txt file is to perform a rename, which moves the history as well. IMO this is actually a feature request surely to handle when a sysadmin goes around breaking things beneath TWiki.

If a sysadmin has accidentally done a rm *.txt or rm * (if they're using an RCS dir approach), the ability to retrieve the previous versions of the topic is a positive benefit rather than a bug.

-- MS - 08 Jan 2004

Edit | Attach | Watch | Print version | History: r2 < r1 | Backlinks | Raw View | Raw edit | More topic actions
Topic revision: r2 - 2004-01-08 - MichaelSparks
 
  • Learn about TWiki  
  • Download TWiki
This site is powered by the TWiki collaboration platform Powered by Perl Hosted by OICcam.com Ideas, requests, problems regarding TWiki? Send feedback. Ask community in the support forum.
Copyright © 1999-2017 by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.